

National agInnovation Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards 2025 Call for Nominations

The Call

We seek nominations of individuals and teams for the National agInnovation Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Awards. These awards recognize the creation or implementation of pluralistic and inclusive efforts at the local, state, regional, or national level—efforts that go beyond meeting EEO/AA program requirements.

Award Presentation

Dependent on the pool of nominations, up to two recipients (an individual and a group) may be recognized with these awards. The recipients of the National agInnovation Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award will be recognized at the 2025 agInnovation Meeting, September 15-18, 2025, in Milwaukee, WI, with a commemorative plaque and \$1,000 cash award from agInnovation. Travel reimbursement to attend the awards event will be provided for the primary recipient. Each recipient will be asked to submit photos and a project summary for the agInnovation website, the NIFA Update and for integration in the Awards Program. The awardees will also be asked to submit an impact statement for the Land-Grant Impacts database which describes research impacts to the public.

Eligibility

The nominee can be an individual, group, team, or organization composed of State Agricultural Experiment Station (AES) or Agricultural Research (ARD) faculty and scientists, staff, students or post-docs. An AES or ARD faculty, scientist, staff person, student, or postdoc is defined as having a clear association with research funded by capacity grants or responsibility for research capacity grant programming.

Criteria for Nominations

Nominations are submitted electronically at National agInnovation Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Awards and can be made by anyone, including self-nominations. When writing nominations, special attention should be given to efforts that have the potential to be sustained over time or can be replicated in other comparable situations.

Four weighted elements will be considered in the review process and should be described clearly in the nomination. These include:

- <u>Purpose</u>: What DEI efforts were undertaken and why? How did the efforts by a person, group, or organization to achieve diversity, equity and inclusion in an experiment station project/program (e.g., Hatch, Hatch Multistate, Evans-Allen, McIntire-Stennis.) (35%)
- <u>Innovation</u>: Why are these efforts worthy of recognition? What new or innovative strategies were developed or employed? (35%)
- <u>Impact</u>: How have efforts led to positive, sustainable programmatic and/or organizational change? What metrics were used to assess change? (20%)



• <u>Scope</u>: How broadly did (or likely will) this effort affect the success of the operations of the nominee's Experiment Station or agInnovation nationally? (10%)

Selection Process

The Diversity Catalyst Committee will review nominations and select the recipients based on the weighted elements indicated in the criteria.

Due Date

The due date for nominations is **June 1, 2025**.

Past Winners

2024

- Elias G. Quiñonez [Individual award], Manager of Student Life and Diversity, College of Agricultural Sciences, Colorado State University
- Indigenous Pathways in Agriculture Team [Group award], College of Agriculture, Montana State University (Tracy Dougher, Vice Provost, accepting)

2023

- Jacquelyn Dee Mosley [Individual award], School of Human Environmental Sciences, Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food, and Life Sciences, University of Arkansas
- **Cloquet Forestry Center** [Group award], College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences, University of Minnesota (Kyle Gill, Forest Manager and Research Coordinator, accepting)

2022

- Anna Katherine Mansfield [Individual award], Cornell AgriTech
- **Mississippi Small Farm and Agribusiness Center** [Group award], Alcorn State University (Elizabeth Myles, Associate Director, accepting)

2021

- **Shannon Archibeque-Engle** [Individual award], Office of the Vice President for Diversity, Colorado State University
- Organic Farming Team, Horticultural Sciences Department [Group award], Carlene Chase, Marilyn Swisher, Oscar Liburd, Jin Zhao, Zhifeng Gao, Alejandro Bolques and Sanjun Gu, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, University of Florida

2020

• Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Department of Family, Youth and Community Sciences [Group award], Tracy Irani, Jenny Jones, Sharon Austin, Keith Diem, Kelly Moore, Dale Pracht, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, University of Florida

2019

• **Jeff Jacobsen**, Executive Director, North Central Regional Association of State Agricultural Experiment Station Directors (NCRA)

2018

• Levon Esters and Neil Knobloch, The Mentoring@Purdue Team, Purdue University