2019 National Experiment Station Diversity and Inclusion Award
Jeff Jacobsen, Diversity Catalyst Committee, North Central Regional Association of State
Agricultural Experiment Station Directors (NCRA)

Following a national solicitation for nominations and a rigorous evaluation, the 2019 **National Experiment Station Section Diversity and Inclusion Award** was given to **Dr. Jeff Jacobsen** in Nashville, Tennessee on September 25, 2019 during the 2019 Joint ESS/CES-NEDA Meeting.

In 2015, Dr. Jacobsen was the critical lead in the formation of the ESCOP Diversity in Research Leadership Task Force, now known as the Diversity Catalyst Committee (DCC), a group of research directors and regional associations that also includes representatives from Extension, Academic Programs, diversity professional and NIFA. Jeff was instrumental in crafting and implementing a strategy that championed a long-term diversity and inclusion agenda for the Experiment Station Section. He has engaged all the ESS directors with conversations, exercises, and workshops on contemporary issues associated with the promotion of inclusive organizations. This included challenging every 1862 and 1890 director to take the Intercultural Development Inventory coupled with individual debriefs, a noteworthy step in the assessment of intercultural competence summarized nationally and regionally.

Jeff's leadership has changed the culture of the Experiment Station Section and affiliated groups. The Task Force is now a standing committee, the DCC, diversity and inclusion training is a priority at regional and national AES meetings, and an award that recognized outstanding efforts toward diversity in the experiment station community was established. Jeff has served as the leader, follower, planner, cheerleader, strategic thinker, and implementer of an agenda that promotes diversity and inclusion within the ESS. We extend our gratitude to Jeff for the opportunity to join the effort to advance excellence in intercultural competence and to create diverse and inclusive organizations within the experiment station community and beyond.